1037

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 1037

  1. workbike says:

    Can I pick one of the four?

    I’d struggle with any of them so I may as well pick my battles.

  2. linus says:

    i am all of those things and still single. Humble too. I just don’t get it…

  3. jonbirch says:

    haha. i’m not sure i’m any of the things in the cartoon. sometimes i feel other men are making me feel bad for being a bit rubbish at stuff. i can draw pictures and write tunes… not much good for getting the house finished though. :-)

  4. Pat says:

    jon – there are things that women value far more highly…….but think you already know that :-D

  5. Pat says:

    Ooops – I meant than being rich, clever and good at DIY, not than drawing pictures and writing tunes, in case that wasn’t obvious :lol:

  6. goodfield says:

    Two sides to a coin – what do men want women to be?

  7. Robin says:

    We also have to be funny, sociable, strong, loyal, tidy, manly, humble and a sacrificial artist in the bedroom.

  8. serenaeta says:

    Doesn’t matter one whit. My dad is amazing at DIY, I am passably good at DIY, my husband helps but I suspect he would probably be better than me at DIY if he had the time. OTOH he’s the main breadwinner, which gives me time to faff around pretending to do DIY.

  9. Ros says:

    Don’t need him to be good at DIY, my Dad’s a builder so he can do it!

  10. Caroline TOO says:

    …dunno, just being ‘there’ would be good enough for me!

  11. Carole says:

    Hahaha! Feeling got at, are we? Guys,as long as you are not axe murderers or something equally unpleasant, I am prepared to love you just the way you are…I might struggle a bit if you are a Man United fan.

    Pat – do you care to elaborate? ;-)

    BTW Robin, can you explain to me what a ‘sacrificial artist in the bedroom’ is, exactly? :-)

  12. Sarah says:

    Rich yes clever not so much DIY we can do together good looking beauty is in the eye of the beholder ;-)

  13. subo says:

    that’s not even half of it, you must be indulgent, creative, witty, sensual, romantic, devoted, generous, thoughtful, domesticated, …

    you must cook wonderful food and know what’s worth watching were, have an extensive and varied music collection (your happy to share), and of course, be a nice Christian

  14. jonbirch says:

    carole… i think pat is talking about the beauty of silver hair. i do have that. :-D

    funnily enough, the only pressure i’ve ever felt is from blokes (older blokes) thinking all blokes should be good at diy. when i was younger it got to me. now i try not to care about it with varying results. hmmmph.

  15. Tiggy Sagar says:

    I should think a bloke who’s into DIY would be incredibly boring.

  16. Forrest says:

    Being a man whose health has crashed and who will be on disability for the foreseeable future is a difficult place to be; it really brings up the “who am I?”; “what am I good for?”; “why am I here anyway?” questioning.

    (which brings to mind a certain cetacean in an obscure little tome about mostly harmless hitchikers)

  17. ah DIY smee-eye-why …

    I think I am pretty good at doing stuff but only because I am too tight to pay an over priced builder to rip me off …

    I have often felt the inadequacy of “not being a man” because I hate football, football is a girls game :)

  18. Sarah says:

    Rugger’s the game Dennis.

  19. Robin says:

    Carole said “BTW Robin, can you explain to me what a ‘sacrificial artist in the bedroom’ is, exactly? :-)”…….. cue Mr Barry White……

    One thing that does get my nose is mens groups – i’m sure some people find them a vital means of relating outside of our protective shells, but me i can’t be doing with all the presumptions about manliness, beer drinking, watching football, being “men” like there’s some kind of template or benchmark of farting one has to reach in order to be in touch with ones inner warrior (although i may do all these things they don’t define me). When the church starts telling me how to be a man i just want run and hide up a tree in womens clothing…. actually no but i just don’t feel i need to be told how to be a person, and i don’t believe there’s a way i should be. The church should encourage us to be people of god, not men of god or women of god, but who we are! :)

  20. serenaeta says:

    Great comments everyone! I get annoyed because while I enjoy a bit of pampering I also LOVE watching sport and drinking beer but “women’s groups” never do that… Perhaps there should just be groups of friends doing things they like, rather than gender-segregated groups?!

  21. Forrest says:

    Re: “Perhaps there should just be groups of friends doing things they like, rather than gender-segregated groups?!”

    Probably best to have option of either or.
    Whatever suits your mood and wants.

  22. Pat says:

    Bravo Robin! :-)
    jon – of course! And scruffy beards – I believe you have one of those too :lol:
    Anyway, you ARE a DIY-er – you just use a different set of tools. And I’d rather have an ASBO cartoon than a set of wonky shelves anyday! (Though of course I guess Clare might prefer to have both :lol: )

  23. Carole says:

    Robin – :lol:

    Actually, you know, we women occasionally struggle to adhere to the standards that society demands. I hate shopping, keep house very badly (when I do at all), admire babies only from a long distance (but will gush on demand when I see puppies, kittens or bunny wabbits), failed miserably at breastfeeding (which I have felt judged about ever since, rightly or wrongly), can’t cook and struggle to be anything other than a slob. But as I’ve got older, I’ve grown more comfortable in my skin and more accepting of myself.

    In the end, you accept people for who they are, in all their wonderful diversity. I know that might sound cheesy, but it’s true. Becky G has in the past used the term ‘cookie cutter Christian’ but I think that you can have ‘cookie cutter men and women’, too. That’s OK…but after a while you learn to appreciate people with something a little bit different about them.

  24. linus says:

    So i’m interested that in amongst all this expectation and pressure to prove yourself, that the Bible speaks of a God that doesn’t require us to be rich or nice to look at or handy with a srewdriver. A God that has actually made pretty significant allowance for us not even being ‘good’. What does God require of you? Act justly, love mercy, walk humbly…

    Sereneata: genius – being friends? doing things we enjoy? revolutionary thinking!! I love it =] The tricky bit is making sure that everyone, even the awkward people, get included. I confess i’ve been both the awkward person who feels excluded and worthless and the person not wanting to let the awkward people in to my precious time with friends. Its not fun either way. How do we include everyone in our comunity without having to organise everything from the top down and reduce every social gathering to the meaningless exchange of small talk rather than the development of deep friendships?

  25. linus says:

    ps, Carole – Bunny wabbits? mmm tasty =] and, more importantly, i think you’re great =] Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

  26. janetp says:

    Linus @ 2 – :lol:

    Pat @ 22 – I’m pretty sure Clare can put up shelves if necessary, wonky or otherwise :)

  27. Carole says:

    Aww! Thanks Linus…I think you’re pretty darn good, too :-) Hands off the Bunny Wabbits, though!

  28. Pingback: Its All So Easy... | The Church Sofa

  29. jennw2ns says:

    Speaking of hanging out with friends–you lot are cool! I wish I could hang out with y’all (an Americanism–not from my part of America–which has its uses). I stumbled onto this blog for the first time this morning thanks to nakedpastor, and if I didn’t have to go try to be a productive, drop-dead gorgeous, not-overbearingly intelligent, witty, talented female member of society (not that I AM those things–I’m just trying to be relevant), I’d probably spend the rest of the day here and back and forth between all of your blogs.

Leave a Reply

