1042

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 1042

  1. subo says:

    the worlds expanding

  2. Tenon Saw says:

    I can relate to that.

  3. Robin says:

    There’s this idea that we’re on some sort of journey, that we growing ever closer to God in our “christian walk” whereas, like the cartoon, the further i walk the less i seem to be certain of.

  4. Rob says:

    so so true
    so how come some ‘olders’ insist THEY have it so so right?

  5. goodfield says:

    Probably because they think (some times incorrectly) they’ve seen it all before! :-) As Sarah said in the last post it’s all about experience – you can’t always impart that even if people are willing to lisren.

  6. chris says:

    Is it weird that I am actually enjoying this increasing uncertainty? It is so freeing to be rid of that Christian black and white-ness that has been there for most of my life. Being able to say, “I don’t know, I don’t get it” feels really quite refreshing. I don’t need to know.

  7. rob says:

    You’ll never be an evangelical, then

  8. JF says:

    Chris, you’re right. It can be so liberating to say “I don’t know”, or “We don’t know”.
    What sort of “black-and-whiteness” do you mean, by the way?

  9. chris says:

    @JF, i just mean the definite rights and wrongs (or we’re right and everyone else is wrong) of the evangelical way

  10. heather joy says:

    Haha. Isn’t that the truth….

  11. JF says:

    Thanks Chris. The second time today I read about the church’s black-and-whiteness was here:

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-14417362

  12. jonbirch says:

    i genuinely don’t know much… that i do know. as for black and white, so much of my life and my sense of situations appears to be shades of grey. black and white seems to work well if you’re only prepared to look at half the information or just one side of a story.

  13. Ros says:

    The more I find out about the world, the less I actually know about it. Maybe it’s realising that the world, universe and everything is so big all we can ever remember is a tiny fraction of it.

  14. Carole says:

    Yes, I really relate to this one. On the bright side, there is no excuse for ever getting bored…not that I let that stop me! ;-)

  15. Carolne Too says:

    it is possible to be an evangellybaby and not demand certainty! Personally I keep finding an alarming increase in the number of things that I know nothing about!

  16. lauren says:

    Well, to change the theme a bit I learned something new today! Watching a British TV show I finally learned what an ASBO is! XD So as I grow older, I only get wiser… to British cultural references, at least. ;)

  17. Pingback: Older… | Sunshine and Shadows

  18. Carolne Too says:

    Lauren :-D, when you finally understand us, could you help explain us to us? We confuse the hell out of ourselves!

  19. janetp says:

    Caroline Too :lol:

    I decided some time ago that I knew nothing about anything, so anything I discovered or could remember was a bonus! Funnily enough, since then I’ve become more aware of the stuff I DO know, and much more appreciative of it :)

    If I ever forget my name & where I live, though, it’s time to get myself microchipped ……

  20. AnneDroid says:

    True, Jon. And a fab thing, actually… All part of the process of handing God-ship over to God rather than assuming it ourselves. Thanks for this. I cringe at the judgemental, proud person I was as a young woman!

Leave a Reply

