1055

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 1055

  1. subo says:

    that crumbling world thing, i hate it

  2. soniamain says:

    it’s been hard but with some unexpected blessings. Thank you that you are still blogging and cartooning:)

  3. goodacre says:

    You and me both.

  4. jonbirch says:

    the great news is… it’s december 21st and the days have already started getting longer again! yay! :-)

  5. Hugh says:

    Jon, This year the solstice is on the 22nd – it’s all to do with where we are relative to leap year.
    It sounds to me that you had a rough year as well but one thing I have found out is God doesn’t let us be pushed beyond out ability to cope and provides rest and comfort when it’s needed.

  6. subo says:

    Ah, solstice – it’s just magical, you can feel it in the air. + like this one from morning bell. x su

    morning bell: preparing for Winter Solstice – and ‘so dark the night’ – but for St John of the Cross it is in our experience of darkness that we find we are Loved. May it be so…

  7. jonbirch says:

    hugh… i stand corrected, but must admit was quite happy under the illusion. :lol:

    subo… nice.

  8. jonbirch says:

    hugh… your second sentence (which was a very kind thing for you to say, thank you), would be a good topic to debate. i will do a cartoon on it in the new year… bit heavy for christmas perhaps. :-)

  9. I hate the milestone thing. It makes us have bad years instead of random bad experiences. 2010 was a pretty crap year for our family and everyone said they were glad to see the back of it. 2011 has been OK really but we have had a couple of challenges toward the end of it…now I hear people saying they hope 2012 is a better year. We no sooner get the jollity of Christmas out of the way (if indeed Christmas is a jolly time for you – for some, I know, it’s not…therein lies the problem of the Christmas milestone!) than we mark the passage of time by reviewing the year…how many famous people have died, how many natural disasters we’ve had, etc. Then we wonder who will be the first famous death in the new year. Since I was a child, I have measured time in World Cups or Olympic Games. I am at a point now where I don’t want to do that as the likelihood of me meeting the next one lessens with each passing year. If God spares me to a ripe old age in good health and vigour, the amount of time I will have left is very short – if I look back that same amount of time (if you understand what I am trying to say) it feels a very short time. But there are no guarantees. Enough of this, I am depressing myself! :-S

  10. z says:

    so true.

    you just never know what life has in store.

    i like your blog.

  11. thinking of you guy’s, Christmas is a strange experience, where memories of past meetings come sharply into focus, our hearts fill with love, and the sharp pain of love for those who’ve gone before us

    let that love be alive, sing out loud to the song that makes you sob, and send blessings to those you wish you could be celebrating with

    and with all expectations evaporating, let yourself be surprised moment by moment, notice something happening around you

    remember, just as your heart fills with hopeful wishes for all you love, so too their heart are holding you close

  12. Forrest says:

    What does next year bring?
    Moe De Same.

  13. soniamain says:

    I’m with you Carole, i find the new desperate looking forward to a new year has the anticipation of what is going to go wrong. I want to try instead to thank God for any blessings and hope I can cope with the rest.

    Treehouse books- I love your words

  14. subo says:

    Just to wish you all a very special Christmas, and a fun stuffed 2012

  15. Wise words all…May I wish you all a great day on the 25th…in the midst of many other great days. :-)

  16. Sarah says:

    A Merry Christmas and blessed yuletide to all.

    Strength and peace.

    Sarah

  17. jonbirch says:

    i agree, carole… it’s just that christmas has this wonderful habit of jumping up once a year and reminding you of everything in a way that no other milestone does. i don’t keep dates in my head of any sad things… i never precisely know when they happened. but christmas has this terrible way of being on the same date every year. :-)

    am watching andrew preview (better known as ‘andre previn’) on the morecambe and wise show… ‘i am playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order.’… hilarious. :lol:

  18. Becky says:

    My New Year’s Resolution for the past few years has been – try to focus on what works. Easier said than done but when I can focus on what’s good instead of all the crapola that went wrong, I find I can move forward a bit better. :)

  19. Tiggy says:

    The end and beginning of my year is Greenbelt more than Christmas.

    Things seem to be getting a bit better for me now I have a handful of people who care about me in place of my family who didn’t. Still strange though that I’m spending Christmas with people I’ve never met in person before on the west coast of Scotland. The adoption by Geordies from Turkey doesn’t seem to have come to anything but at least I had a free holiday in Turkey. Hoping for a more affluent new year by having a flatmate. Planning on a more physically active one too. Less stressed but I still want a certain person to know the damage they caused.

  20. Tiggy Sagar says:

    You just want him to call you when he needs his toilet unblocked, don’t you?

  21. asdf says:

    Amazing boots! I have another pair of Uggs that I thought I loved until I bought these. They have bunny-like fur instead of the normal sheep-like fur. I love that they are lower and the button helps to put skinny jeans into them. I have not been able to take them off since I got them.

  22. Let see what happens in next year. Stay always positive and outcome will be positive.

Leave a Reply

