1083

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 1083

  1. Sabio Lantz says:

    Real Life is learning NOT to wait

  2. Gfeef says:

    Interesting how you have made all but the first person have ‘wants’ that ultimately point back at themselves and their own greatness?
    Yes I work with kids and so I’m biased, but even wanting conversion’s doesn’t sound like wanting to serve for the sake of giving.

  3. Tiggy Sagar says:

    I want to read lots of books but I guess it would be nice to be loved.

  4. goodfield says:

    That’s probably easier than finding stuff to do after you die? :-)

  5. Catriona says:

    This cartoon makes me think (thanks Jon)… and realise how much context matters. I kind of half smiles and half winced as i read it. Need to say before I continue that I am not offended by this cartoon… but as someone who has lost a breast to cancer…. I’d love to have my real boob back and to be anonymous…. and life is for living abundantly for as long as I am fortunate enough to do so.

    Thanks Jon, I know you are humorously challenging the materialist view of how life is sometimes filled and questioning what really matters. I kinda hope this comment is seen in that context not as a grump or a youch :-)

  6. jonbirch says:

    hi catriona… what a brilliant comment. certainly not a ‘grump’, nor indeed a ‘youch’, whatever that is. :-)
    this cartoon came about because of a conversation with a friend over a coffee the other day… it is something we both felt… wrongly, no doubt. i think we were both mourning losses… there has been a fair bit of loss over the past few years. deaths of family and friends, ends of marriages, horrendous problems witnessed, difficult things happening within our home… all sorts of ‘mini’ deaths. i really believe with all my heart that life should have purpose and meaning and that there is a bigger picture, one i don’t see. i think that’s called ‘faith’… but sometimes i just feel overwhelmed by it all. i keep on having to re-learn that i can’t make certain things around me better, even if i really try hard… even love doesn’t seem to make any headway against some big brick walls. i think i’m tired… i think i’m feeling a bit defeated… plus, i never get away. anxiety is a killer when it comes to getting about these days… i’m feeling at a loss on that front too… i’m knackered, truth be told.
    you are utterly right when you say “life is for living abundantly for as long as I am fortunate enough to do so.” you are utterly, utterly right. thank you. :-) x

  7. jonbirch says:

    btw, catriona… you’re right too, i am indeed parodying a materialistic worldview. so, the cartoon’s not all about me. :-) although i can all too easily slip into the materialist mindset. :-( but, darn it, i’m not going to finish this comment with a sad face… :-)

  8. Laura says:

    OMG that’s it EXACTLY!

  9. soniamain says:

    Jon i think it is right to mourn losses, there is a time to mourn, to be sad. i guess the challenge is to also find times to be thankful for what we do have. I think my default setting is to fear, to worry and it is hard to fight that. For the last few years I feel I have been surrounded by mourning, stress, worry, serious illness, loss, some of these, most of these have been effecting close friends/ family. It is so hard to support and not be sucked into the seemingly hopelessness around me. Your phrase ‘I have to keep on having to re-learn that i can’t make certain things around me better, even if i really try hard… even love doesn’t seem to make any headway against some big brick walls’ is so true. Currently I’m trying hard to hang onto a glimmer of light that not everything is hopeless, be thankful, enjoy the good things I do have. I feel like I have spent my life trying to learn that I can not make better those nearest to me that I dearly love, that doesn’t get any easier, but slowly I am realising what I can do that is find glimmers in each day to make me smile.

    and for the cartoon! I am the one ‘wanting to care for children’ !that was my idea at 16 and at nearly 40 yeah it’s pretty much what I do!

  10. Catriona says:

    Thanks again Jon… yes, I totally get the impact of “little deaths” (as i think the clever theologiany-cum-psychologist type people call them). We do need time and space to grieve… and to recognise that it is a process not an event, so can take a very long time.

    Hope you and your coffee drinking friend soon feel less kn*ckered and the burdens of life a little lighter :-) <>

  11. Catriona says:

    (why does it turn my hugs in brackets?!!) < >

  12. Manfred says:

    I’d kinda expected to see a Christian there stating something like: I want to tell everybody about my church. Would be a nice add on.

    For me my life purpose is to have a relationship with God.

  13. I don’t think the mourning mentioned in the beatitutdes is only about mourning losses (whatever type they may be.) I think it is about mourning the state of our world, screaming and yelling and beating our chests about the mountain of problems we need to climb and what needs to be overcome. It is mourning just how far we have come away from the original perfect creation. Mourning helps us see what there is still to do (an ever increasing pile) and the enormity of the task means we realise we can’t do anything about it on our own! I think that’s what this cartoon made me think and that seems to tie in nicely with the encouragement to live life to the fullest.

  14. TreeHouseBooks says:

    hi folks, yep, life feels like this. I also sometimes feel surrounded by worlds where expectations are demanded and the cost to others swept aside. for me, loss sometimes brings us closer – if we can manage the fear, in that we are in touch with our humanity. but i feel bewildered by a sense of exclusion i find in pockets of idealism. and i guess it’s hardest for me to swallow when it’s the church that feels as though it’s made it’s own impenetrable bubble. in my work i come into contact with addicts who’s lives are hanging in the balance because of the chaotic drinking patterns or similar, and I long for a church like George MacLeod talked off, right in the heart of our lived experience

  15. mdrev says:

    I will always remember a sermon preached at my home church sometime in 1993 when the preacher spoke about “filling time” and not “killing time”, and whilst that helped and still helps me see that life is full of opportunities i still have to be careful as to the nature of what i fill my time with…self interests or self giving?

  16. theGreatFuzzy says:

    I want to learn about this universe. I love learning about this world, this universe. Knowing something about how it works means I have a chance to change it for the better, and that’s good in anybodies book. Not knowing means I most likely cannot, and worse, if I try I’ll probably make it worse.

    P.S. Don’t bother about waiting for death, it’ll catch up with you in its own good time.

  17. jonbirch says:

    the great fuzzy… you ‘P.S.’ is true enough.

  18. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Jon, how can I make so that I don’t have to subscribe to each post on here? Someone said I would have to join WordPress but I don’t have a blog so I don’t see how I can.

  19. Kim says:

    Jon, bless you for telling the truth in your comments. I am in a similar place. its hard and I am weary. Putting one foot in front of the other when its possible is all I can see to do for now.

  20. Forrest says:

    There sometimes seems to be a cycle like the tides: you look around at who you are and what you do, and it is fulfilling, it does have meaning, it does matter; and then at times the exact same things you saw before do not have those, and one wonders what makes them different.

    Then is when it may be time to refresh, refuel, recharge, either by means you know or might have to seek.
    My belief is that life consumes energy from the soul and spirit, umm, let’s see, ah, an automobile metaphor would work grandly – eventually the ‘fuel tank’ gets low or even runs dry. Different people may get different ‘mileage’ and different people may have different sized ‘fuel tanks’.
    And every so often the soul and spirit need a ‘tune up’.

    and at that point I run out of intelligent-seeming things to say.

Leave a Reply

