1108

nice

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1108

  1. mdrev says:

    I was told by a church member that the problem with me is that I’m too nice!! Go figure, I’m bringing out my Mr Grumpy persona next time.

  2. jonbirch says:

    grumpy sounds good. :-)

  3. Carole says:

    Help!! Two places to comment!!! I don’t know which way to turn!! Where do you get your inspiration, Jon? ;-)

  4. Shelly says:

    Oh, tone policing. Sigh.

    Seems like she’s trying to point out something that’s wrong that needs to be called out, and no one wants to hear it. Sometimes being “nice” isn’t necessary, though. Even Jesus understood that.

  5. jonbirch says:

    carole… ;-)

    shelly… yeh, ‘tone policing’ is a good summing up.

    i think i’m generally a ‘nice’ guy, but often the things i think, say and draw aren’t ‘nice’ at all. to be ‘nice’ would defeat the purpose. saccharine has no nutritional value and sugar is good in small amounts but can make one fat (i know). :-)

  6. Having seen a stand-up argument in a church foyer this weekend, including an in-the-wild spotting of “in all Christian love” spoken in anger, this cartoon made me smile. Because those people/that woman were essentially yelling at someone else and ordering them to be nicer.

  7. Marcus says:

    ahhh..the “in Christian love” chestnut!!! I have been on the receiving end of that recently and wish that people could be honest enough to say what they really mean because in this instance it should have been interpreted to “I know this is going to hurt and upset you and that it comes from a place of anger and stubbornness but I’m going to say it anyway, dear brother”. But at least in my case they had the craftiness, er i mean “sensitivity” to say it in private!

  8. Pat says:

    Yes….somehow one thinks it wasn’t quite what Peter meant when he observed that ‘love covers over a multitude of sins’ :-/

  9. Lakesha says:

    It’s a shame you don’t hav a donat button! I’d cwrtainly donate to this brilliant blog!
    I suppose forr now i’ll settlle ffor book-marking and addinng your RSS fed to
    my Gooogle account. I loo forwardd to new updqtes annd
    will shawre this websiite with myy Facebook group. Chatt soon!

Leave a Reply

